University of Groningen

The University of Groningen (The Netherlands) is a public research university, founded in 1615 in Groningen, The Netherlands. RUG counts 6,500 employees, among which 400 professors, 2,000 PhD students, and 30,000 students. The research within the University of Groningen concentrates on three societal themes: energy, healthy ageing, and sustainable society.

The team at the University of Groningen is based at the Robotics Group in the Faculty of Science and Engineering. The Robotics group develops systems that are intended to physically interact with uncertain dynamic environments and to cooperate with humans. The group’s main focus is the development of novel actuation systems, which are the key enabling components for motion generation. The work is accomplished by developing unique mechanical designs and intelligent control architectures.

Scientific team:

Raffaella Carloni, PI and Project Coordinator

Riccardo D’Anniballe, Doctoral Candidate

(from June 2019)

Danica K. Tan, Doctoral Candidate

(from June 2020 until March 2022)

• Varsha Krishna, Doctoral Candidate

(from December 2018 until January 2020)

Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche Bologna

The Italian National Research Council (Italy) is the largest public research institution in Italy, organized in 7 departments with > 4,000 researchers in over 100 Institutes, working in all of the fields of human knowledge, and particularly science and tech- nology. CNR has been the first Italian beneficiary of EU funding in FP7 and H2020.
The team at the Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche Bologna is hosted in the Institute for Organic Synthesis and Photoreactivity, which employs 54 permanent staff people performing multidisciplinary research activities in the areas of advanced materials, photonics, nanotechnologies, and chemical manufacturing. The Institute for Organic Synthesis and Photoreactivity mission is to develop technological applications for healthcare, solar energy conversion and environmental sustainability, also through projects of industrial relevance that address the societal challenges of the Europe 2020 strategy.

Scientific team:

Alberto Credi, WP-coLeader

Massimo Baroncini, Senior Researcher

Jessica Groppi, post-Doctoral Fellow

Ozlem Seven, post-Doctoral Fellow

(from February 2020 until January 2021)

Leonardo Andreoni, Doctoral Candidate

(from September 2020)

Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

The Center National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) is a public organization under the responsibility of the French Ministry of Education and Research. CNRS encourages collaboration between specialists from different disciplines in particular with the university thus opening up new fields of enquiry to meet social and economic needs.
The team at the Center National de la Recherche Scientifique is hosted in the Institut Charles Sadron, a multidisciplinary research center devoted to the basic research in the fields of macromolecules and self-assembled systems with applications in materials science.

Scientific team:

Nicolas Giuseppone, WP-Leader

Emilie Moulin, Senior Researcher

• Lara Faour, post-Doctoral Fellow

(from January 2019 until January 2021)

• Damien Dattler, postDoctoral Fellow

(from May 2020 until October 2021)

Christian Carmona-Vargas, Doctoral Candidate

(from March 2020)

University of Bologna (UNIBO)

The University of Bologna (Italy) is known as the oldest University of the western world. Nowadays, it still remains one of the most important institutions of higher education across Europe and the second largest university in Italy with 11 Schools, 33 Departments and about 87.000 students. The University of Bologna has been awarded the use of the logo “HR Excellence in Research” and is among the top 5 Italian universities in the main international rankings. In Horizon 2020, the University of Bologna is involved in 108 funded projects with 39.3M€ of funding.

The team at the University of Bologna is based within the Interdepartmental Center for Industrial Research of the University of Bologna, which works in the field of advanced applications in mechanical engineering and materials technology.

Scientific team:

Andrea Zucchelli, WP-Leader

Maria Letizia Focarete, Senior Researcher

Catia Arbizzani, Senior Researcher

Francesca Soavi, Senior Researcher

Chiara Gualandi, Senior Researcher

Chiara Gualandri

Serena Silvi, Senior Researcher


Alberto Sensini, Researcher

Anna Liguori, Researcher

(from October 2018 until September 2021)


Carlo Gotti, Doctoral candidate (from October 2018 until June 2022), Research fellow

Antonio De Marco, Junior Researcher

(from February 2023)


• Serena Tombolesi, Junior Researcher

(from September 2021 until October 2022)


• Elisabetta Petri, Junior Researcher

(from February 2021 until September 2021)


• Ramona Orlacchio, Junior Researcher

(from May 2019 until October 2020)


• Gianmaria Fornaia, Junior Researcher

(from November 2018 until January 2020)


This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020
Research and Innovation Programme under Grant Agreement no. 801378.